Monday, February 23, 2009

Love Language

Yesterday we went to a short forum by Pastor Mathew on "Love Language".

What is love?
According to the bible 1 Corinthians 13:
4Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

As married couples:
1. We need to keep marriage love tank full
2. To understand the five love languages:
  • Words of affirmation - eg. motivated by encouraging and kind words
  • Quality Time - giving someone undivided attention; and spending considerable time together, eg, conversation, play together, etc
  • Receiving gifts - quality gift, surprise gift, birthday parties, etc, are expression of love. But to some, it's probably a waste of money
  • Act of service - doing things you know your spouse would like you to do, eg, acts of caring, helpfulness and love
  • Physical Touch - it is a powerful vehicle for communicating love, eg, holding hands, hugging, etc
For each of us, we have different love language. Some will be very excited when they receive gift, or physical touch. So, it is important to find out your primary love language.

To find out your love language, do this easy on-line quiz by clicking here.

Now that you understand your primary love language, the next thing to do is to truly love your spouse. Just read the verses above from the bible and practice it.
We felt that practicing forgiveness and selflessness are two very important factors in a married life. Many marriages broke down because of unforgiveness and selfishness.

To read more, click here to go to Dr. Gary Chapman website. Please note that I don't receive financial or other incentives for the promotion of Dr. Gary Chapman.

No comments: